Rugby World Cup in 2023: discover the four pools

Published by Cécile D. · Updated on 14 December 2020 at 17h27 · Published on 14 December 2020 at 16h56
It is getting closer! The Rugby World Cup 2023 will take place in France. The four pools have been drawn. France starts with a big challenge as the team will have to play against New Zealand.

Oval ball fans are looking forward to this event. The Rugby World Cup arrives in France in 2023 and it will be incredible. The pools have been drawn this Monday December 14, 2020, putting the country alongside New ZealandItaly and teams qualified in Africa and America that have not been announced yet.

  • Pool A: New Zealand, France, Italy, Americas 1, Africa 1

  • Pool B: South Africa, Ireland, Scotland, Asia/Pacific 1, Europe 2

  • Pool C: Wales, Australia, Fiji, Europe 1, Final Qualifier Winner

  • Pool D: England, Japan, Argentina, Oceania 1, Americas 2
Here during the draw, Emmanuel Macron intended to tease and support the French team: "It's easy, every twelve years, we reach the final. I counted: in 2023, it'll be twelve year we haven't reached the final. Now, in 2023, it's at home, you must bring it home, sort it out". The French President also added "we'll all be rooting for you".
As for Bernard Laporte, he is more cautious. 20 Minutes quotes the President of the French Federation of Rugby: "There's no such thing as easy pool. I find them balanced, with an uncertain end. New Zealand is one of the best nations in the world, and this game will be fascinating. I'm very excited anyway. Today [Monday December 14] is the first day of this World Cup. Players, with eight wins in ten games, have gave the jersey its former pride. In three years, players will have been selected between 40 and 60 times and this common experience will help them".
Even though we hope the French to win over the All Blacks, there is everything left to play. Pool B includes some of the greatest rugby nation giving the "Bleus" a hard time during their past games. Quarter finals will be tense.
For the record, France already hosted the Rugby World Cup. It was in 2007. At that time, South Africa won the oh-so coveted Cup at the Stade de France. As for the Bleus, they made it to the final three times but never won the World Cup.
We hope France will ultimately win the cup and stand as the winner, a few months before hosting the Olympic Games 2024.

Practical information

Recommended age
For all

Refine your search
Refine your search
Refine your search
Refine your search