Tour de France 2019, 106th edition and route

This year, the Tour de France celebrates its 106th anniversary. It will be back from Saturday July 6 to Sunday July 28, 2019. The new edition will leave from Brussels, Belgium to finish, like every year, on the Champs-Elysées in Paris. Discover the program of the famous Great Loop.

The Tour de France organization team unveiled the road for the edition 2019! An exceptional road for this 106th anniversary to discover from Saturday July 6 to Sunday July 28, 2019.

Note that this edition 2019 will celebrate the 100th anniversary of the Yellow Jersey! "For the centenary of the Yellow Jersey, we'll go to the brith city of the greatest champion in the history of cycling, Eddy Merckx, who symbolizes the best the Yellow Jersey and who wore the Yellow Jersey the most (111 times, 79 times for Bernard Hinault, 60 for Miguel Indurain, 59 for Christopher Froome, 52 for Jacques Anquetil...). We're not aware of Eddy Merckx's aura until we have roamed the streets of Brussels by his side. He has the stature of a commander" Tour de France chairman Christian Prudhomme said.

21 stages will form this new edition covering 3,460 kilometers. On the menu? Flat stages, medium mountain stages, mountain stages including mountain top finishes, 2 individual time-trials and only 2 rest days.

Leaving from Brussels, the Tour 2019 will have the racing cyclists to complete a loop, departing from the Belgium capital. They will have to climb up the Wall of Grammont, then Bosberg and will cycle through Charleroi before returning to Brussels.

The second day will be dedicated to a team race against time taking place in Brussels too.

What's next? 214 km between Binche and Epernay with an uneven relief, then a 215-km leg between Reims and Nancy. First hills during the 5th leg between Saint-Dié-des-Voges and Colmar

The longest stage of the Tour (230km) is unmissable: on July 12, the race will go from Belfort to Chalon-sur-Saône.

Then, the first mountain stage between Toulouse and Bagnères-de-Bigorre. The day after, racers will have to outdo themselves with the individual race against time in Pau.

On July 25, a long mountain stage will take place covering 207 km between Embrun and Valloire including the Col de Vars, Izobard and Galibier.

The 19th stage will be difficult too with a route going through the Col de l'Iseran, highest road col in the Alpes the Tour hasn't visited since 2007.

Last mountain stage on July 27 between Albertville and Val-Thorens (131km).

The Tour de France 2019 will end on Sunday July 28, 2019 between Rambouillet and the world’s most beautiful avenue covering 127 kilometers.

Complete program of the edition 2019:

Tour France 2019Tour France 2019Tour France 2019Tour France 2019

The 21 stages of the Tour de France 2018:

  • 1st stage: Brussels – Charleroi – Brussels (Saturday July 6)
  • 2nd stage: Brussels – team race against time (Sunday July 7)
  • 3rd stage: Brinche (Belgium) – Epernay (Monday July 8)
  • 4th stage: Reims – Nancy (Tuesday July 9)
  • 5th stage: Saint-Dié-des-Vosges – Colmar (Wednesday July 10)
  • 6th stage: Mulhouse – Planche des Belles Filles (Thursday July 11)
  • 7th stage: Belfort – Chalon-sur-Saône (Friday July 12)
  • 8th stage: Mâcon – Saint-Etienne (Saturday July 13)
  • 9th stage: Saint-Etienne – Brioude (Sunday July 14)
  • 10th stage: Saint-Flour – Albi (Monday July 15)
  • Tuesday July 16: day off in Albi
  • 11th stage: Albi – Toulouse (Wednesday July 17)
  • 12th stage: Toulouse – Bagnères-de-Bigorre (Thursday July 18)
  • 13th stage: Pau – individual race against time (Friday July 19)
  • 14th stage: Tarbes – Col du Tourmalet (Saturday July 20)
  • 15th stage: Limoux – Foix Prat d’Albis (Sunday July 21)
  • Monday July 22: day off in Nîmes
  • 16th stage: Nîmes – Nîmes (Tuesday July 23)
  • 17th stage: Pont du Gard – Gap (Wednesday July 24)
  • 18th stage: Embrun – Valloire (Thursday July 25)
  • 19th stage: Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne – Tignes (Friday July 26)
  • 20th stage: Albertville – Val Thorens (Saturday July 27)
  • 21st stage: Rambouillet – Paris Champs-Elysées (Sunday July 28)
Caroline J.
Last updated on 25 October 2018

Practical information

Opening Time
From 6 July 2019 to 28 July 2019

×

    Location


    75008 Paris 8

    Prices
    Free

    Recommended age
    For all

    Official website
    www.letour.fr

    Comments
    Refine your search
    Refine your search
    Refine your search
    Refine your search