Covid: compulsory quarantine in France to apply to 17 countries

Published by Cécile D., Caroline J., Rizhlaine F. · Updated on 27 May 2021 at 10h27 · Published on 27 May 2021 at 10h07
While Covid-19 variants are increasing worldwide, borders are reopening. To prevent a fourth wave likely to be caused by foreign travelers, France applies compulsory quarantine to citizens from 17 countries.

France extends health restrictions to countries the most at-risk. On Saturday April 17, 2021, in the evening, Matignon services confirm the implementation of a compulsory 10-day self-isolation period for all travelers coming from countries the hardest hit by the pandemic, and the new strains called “variants”, namely Brazil, Argentina, Chile and South Africa and now India. The beginning of this compulsory self-isolation period for these 5 countries - as well as French Guiana - is instated since Saturday April 24, 2021. In the event of non-compliance, the fine can go up to €1,500.

The French government explains the decision in a release: “the uncontrolled spread of the virus in some countries, and especially of several variants making fear an increased risk of transmissibility or vaccination exhaust impose strengthening controlling measures at the arrivals from some countries”. New coronavirus strains – such as the “Brazil variant” – seem to be out of control for months in Brazil and neighboring countries. In India, the double-mutant strain worries. 

Since April 17, the list of countries the quarantine applies to has been extended. At first, only five countries were considered dangerous. Now, 17 countries are placed under surveillance.

Countries involved are: the United Kingdom, Brazil, India, Chile, South Africa, Argentina, Turkey, Bangladesh, Sri Lannka, Pakistan, Nepal, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Colombia, Bahrein, Costa Rica and Uruguay.

Travelers must present a negative PCR test less than 36 hours old (instead of 72h), or a negative PCR test less than 72 hours old confirmed with a negative antigenic test less than 24 hours old.

Furthermore, since Saturday April 24, travelers coming from French Guiana are subject to the same rules and will have to take antigenic tests. The latter will be systematically “made available at the arrival fir flights from French Guiana to the West Indies”, Matignon adds. At the same time, it is also the list of motives and categories of people allowed to come to France that is limited to travelers from these countries.

Practical information

Refine your search
Refine your search
Refine your search
Refine your search