The European Union and the Schengen area reopen the borders of 14 countries

Published by Julie M., Caroline J., Elodie D. · Published on 2 July 2020 at 08h42 · Updated on 2 July 2020 at 12h33
France and other EU state members have announced to gradually reopen their external Schengen borders from July 1, 2020 to about fifteen countries. First, sole connections with 14 countries are possible, borders will reopen with reviewed and new requirements every two weeks. Senegal - that was not included in the list - said it will apply principle of reciprocity.

As France has reopened its borders to EU travelers on June 15, it announces the external Schengen borders will reopen from July 1, 2020.

Minister of the Foreign Affairs Jean-Yves Le Drian and Secretary of the Interior Christophe Castaner have announced in the night from Friday June 12 to Saturday 13, in a joint press release. The two ministers added "this opening will be progressive and different depening on the health situation of the different countries, in compliance with the modalities set on a European level until then".

The list of requirements to held to open the borders has been set up this Friday June 26, in the evening. This proposition will get voted this Monday. According to the proposition, several epidemiologic criteria are to be held to be on the list of countries authorized to land un the European Union, especially in case the rate of new Covid-19 cases is close to or below 16 for 100,000 inhabitants (the average in the EU) out of the past 2 weeks, including a decreasing novel cases trend, and the existnece of measures implemented to fight against the pandemic.

The list proposed includes 14 countries including AlgeriaAustraliaCanadaGeorgiaJapanMontenegroMorocco, New-ZealandRwandaSerbiaSouth KoreaThailandTunisia, and Uruguay. Are added AndorraMonacoVatican, and Saint-Martin.
China may be included into the list of the reopened borders if it agrees with reciprocity. The EU intends to close its borders to travelers from 54 countries including the United-States, Brazil, and Russia.

Like the United-States, India, or even Brazil, Senegal is not part of this restricted list. While the country intends to apply priniciple of reciprocitySenegal announced that it will not reopened its territory to trabelers from countries who do not proceed the same way. "Following the decision of the European Union to ban Senegal from the list of countries allowed to travel within its space, the State of Senegal has decided the principle of reciprocity will be applied to all countries who made decisions against Senegal" the Ministry of Aerial Transports said on their Facebook page.

For the record, the Schengen Area has been closed to the world since March 17, 2020 and is said to remain so at least until June 15. This decision was made during a European Council. But if the Schengen Borders Code imposes countries to act in a coordinated way, in March, the countries have closed their borders to the rest of the world unilaterally, because the closure of the borders remains the authority of the state members.

By the way, Greece has reopened its airports to flights from China, New Zealand, and South Korea on June 15, as the European Union was planning a joint calendar to reopen from July 1. The undergoal was to launch – and save – the tourism season, as countries are launching aid funds for the sector badly impacted by the hold of world travels.

According to the World Tourism Organization (WTO), the return to normal of the world circulation rules will not return by September.

Practical information

Refine your search
Refine your search
Refine your search
Refine your search