Covid: requirements to enter France made harsher, Gabriel Attal’s announcements

Published by Caroline J. · Published on 4 December 2021 at 08h36
After December 1, 2021’s council of ministers, Gabriel Attal announced requirements at the borders were now harsher. Compulsory negative test from less than 48 hours for all non-EU travelers, test from less than 24 hours for all non-vaccinated travelers from an EU member country… Here are the latest restrictions.

The situation is very clearly and quickly deteriorating”, claimed Gabriel Attal this Wednesday December 1, 2021 after the council of ministers. “We are worried about the swift growth in new case toll found in France”, he added.
So, to face this 5th wave and be protected against the Omicron variant, the government’s spokesman announced the requirements to enter France are made harsher with a series of new measures. “A new and reinforced health protocol will be applied for all international travels”, he announced this Wednesday.

As for travelers wishing to enter France from a country set outside the European Union, “a negative test from less than 48 hours” will be mandatory, including for vaccinees, Gabriel Attal stated.

As for travels from EU countries to France, “we have decided for non-vaccinated people to reduce the test’s validity to 24 hours”, he said. Note these measures will be instated from Saturday December 4th.

Now the question is about compulsory negative test for travelers from EU countries. On that matter, we are working on European coordination, a decision will be made by the end of the week”, the French government’s spokesman added.

Furthermore, Attal announced flights from and to southern Africa will resume this December 4, 2021 but will be subject to “extremely strict and radical supervision”. The government’s spokesperson also said a new category to list countries has been created, namely scarlet red countries. These are countries where the Omicron variant has been reported. This new category includes the 7 Southern Africa countries, in addition to Malawi, Zambia and Mauritius.

Consequently, “only French people, from the EU, diplomatic staff and flying crews can enter France from these ten countries”, Attal said this Wednesday.

They will all have to submit to a test upon arrival, in addition to taking a test at departure”, he added. Furthermore, people showing a negative test will have to self-isolate for 7 days. In the event of a positive case, they will have to self-isolate for 10 days.

Practical information

Refine your search
Refine your search
Refine your search
Refine your search