Isadora Duncan, when music becomes dance, the concert at Musée d’Orsay in Paris

Published by Laurent P. · Published on 24 January 2018 at 18h29 · Updated on 25 January 2018 at 11h07
On February 10, 2018, Musée d’Orsay offers a musical and peculiar experience, halfway through concert and lecture, focused on modern dance pioneer and music lover Isadora Duncan. A concert created by the Ensemble Calliopée with a lecture by Clotilde Courau.

When music is at the service of the art… A calling for the Ensemble Calliopéea variable-geometry chamber music ensemble” who, on February 10, 2018, offers a concert halfway through music, dance and lecture at the auditorium of the Musée d’Orsay. An artistic moment under the direction of Karine Lethiec, entitled Isadora Duncan: Quand la Musique se fait Danse [When Music becomes Dance], focused on the dancer and her relationship to art and music, with a lecture by actress Clotilde Courau.

A career as an artist evoked for this concert, shaped like a themed diary and a lecture illustrated by a video creation by Christian Boustani, based on photographs and other drawings of the dancer by Antoine Bourdelle, José Clara and Jules Grandjouan as well as musical compositions the artist used to particularly loved: Chopin, Scriabine, Beethoven, Wagner, Debussy, Fauré… As many composers covered by the Ensemble Calliopée (a quintet formation with piano) to accompany the whole event.

A musical experience for everyone (starting from 1 p.m.), lasting 90 minutes, that’s related to the Degas, Dance, Drawing exhibition about the eponymous work by Paul Valéry and the friendship between the writer and the painter.

Program of the concert:

  • Inverser la roue du temps / Inverting the wheel of time

Christoph Willibald GLUCK (1714-1787), Orpheus and Eurydice, Danced of the Blessed Spirits (arrangement for violin and piano)

  • San Francisco: mon enfance / San Francisco: my childhood

Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849), Waltz for piano, Op. 70, #1

New York et Londres: mes débuts / New York and London: my debuts

Antonin DVOŘÁK (1841-1904), Quintet with piano #2 in A major, III. Scherzo (Furiant)

  • Paris: les salons et les artistes / Paris: salons and artists

Claude DEBUSSY (1862-1918): Images pour piano, Book I, Reflets dans l’eau
Gabriel FAURE (1845-1924):  Quartet with piano #1 in C minor, IV. Final
Frédéric CHOPIN (1810-1849): Concerto for piano #2, I. Maestoso (arrangement for piano and strings by Paul Waldersee)

  • Tournées et Voyages / Tours and Travels

Ludwig van BEETHOVEN (1770-1827): Symphony #3 “Heroic”, I Allegro con brio (arrangement for quartet with piano Ferdinand Ries)
Richard WAGNER (1813-1883): Tristan and Isolde, Liebestod (Death of Love) (arrangement for trio with piano Alfred Pringsheim)
Claude DEBUSSY (1862-1918): antic epigraphs for piano, To invoke Pan, God of summer wind

  • Transmettre mon art / Delivering my art

Johannes BRAHMS (1833-1897) Waltz for piano with four hands, Op. 39, #15 in A major

  • Mes Amours, Ma Liberté / My love, My Freedom

Johannes BRAHMS (1833-1897) Sonate “Frei aber einsame“ (Free but alone), III, Scherzo
Mel BONIS (1858-1937) Quartet with piano #1 in B-flat major, III. Andante
Betsy JOLAS (1926) Frauenliebe (A woman’s love) for viola and piano

  • Souffrances / Sufferings

Franz SCHUBERT (1797-1828) String quartet #14 “La Jeune fille et la mort” [Death and the Maiden], II. Andante con moto
César FRANCK (1822 -1890) Quintet for piano and strings, II. Lento con molto sentimento

  • L’Espoir / The Hope

Alexandre SCRIABINE (1871-1915) Study for piano, Op. 8 #12 “Pathétique” [Pathetic]
Robert SCHUMANN (1810-1856) Quartet with piano, Op. 47, III. Andante Cantabile

Practical information

Dates and Opening Time
On 10 February 2018
Starts at 4 p.m.



    Porte C
    75007 Paris 7

    Tarif - de 18 ans: €4.5
    Tarif jeunes & solidarité: €8
    Tarif réduit: €12
    Plein tarif: €16

    Official website

    More informations
    Début du concert à 16h. Concert tout public, à partir de 13 ans

    Occupancy forecast
    Refine your search